1. Skip to header
  2. Skip to navigation
  3. Skip to content
  4. Skip to footer

About Tuskegee & Macon County

Macon County

The service area for TuskMac CDC encompasses all of Macon County, a predominantly rural area comprised of four municipalities; Tuskegee, Shorter, Notasulga and Franklin. Tuskegee, which has the largest population was founded and laid out in 1833. It was probably named after an Indian tribe, the Taskigis.

Tuskegee is world-known for its association with Tuskegee University, the Tuskegee Airmen, Dr. George Washington Carver, Booker T. Washington and contemporary icons who were born in Tuskegee such as entertainer Lionel Richie and media mogul Tom Joyner.

Macon County is blessed with an even greater abundance of history and cultural assets. Easily accessed off Interstate 85 at exit 22 is the town of Shorter, which boasts a section of the Old Federal Road, built in 1811. The community today is quietly growing and is home to a major tourism and gaming venue as well as a large automotive supply company that manufactures heating and air conditioning systems for Hyundai vehicles. The town of Franklin is home to the Harris Barrett School, built in 1903 and restored as a historic museum. Notasulga is the birthplace of author Zora Neale Hurston and also home to Whippoorwill Winery, which is producing award-winning wines.

A broadband project will make Macon County a model for technology upgrading. Efforts are underway to attract new industries and expand job opportunities. Macon County stands on a solid foundation as it manages the present and plans for the future.

Images of history, life and work in Tuskegee and Macon County